Sustainability & Bioeconomy

Lars Brudvig
Lars Brudvig

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Iowa State University
Plant community, landscape, and restoration ecology; plant-animal interactions, habitat fragmentation.
  brudvig@msu.edu

Christopher Klausmeier
Christopher Klausmeier

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
Theoretical Ecology;plankton ecology
  klausme1@msu.edu

Richard K. Kobe
Richard K. Kobe

Adjunct Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Forest ecology (temperate and tropical); mechanisms governing plant community dynamics
  kobe@msu.edu

Robert Last
Robert Last

Barnett Rosenberg Professor
Ph.D. Carnegie-Mellon University
Plant Genetics, metabolic regulation, amino acid and vitamin biosynthesis, secondary metabolism, function genomics
  lastr@msu.edu

Elena Litchman
Elena Litchman

Professor of Integrative Biology
Adjunct Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
phytoplankton ecology, physiology and evolution; biogeochemical impacts of phytoplankton; global change, invasive microbes, harmful algal blooms, aquatic ecology
  litchman@msu.edu

Carolyn Malmstrom
Carolyn Malmstrom

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
A.B. Harvard University
Plant and landscape ecology; plant virus ecology; disturbance ecology; remote sensing; global change; sustainability; restoration.
  carolynm@msu.edu

John B. Ohlrogge
John B. Ohlrogge

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
University Distinguished Professor

Ph.D. University of Michigan
Lipid and fatty acid biosynthesis, metabolic engineering, genomics, regulation of metabolism, seed oil accumulation
  ohlrogge@msu.edu

Danny J. Schnell
Danny J. Schnell

Professor of Plant Biology
Chairperson, Department of Plant Biology

Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
 schnelld@msu.edu

Yair Shachar-Hill
Yair Shachar-Hill

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Yale University
The arbuscular mycorrhizal symbiosis, non-photosynthetic one carbon metabolism, metabolic engineering, plant NMR spectroscopy
  yairhill@msu.edu

Frank W. Telewski
Frank W. Telewski

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Wake Forest University
Enviromental and stress physiology; tree growth and development; dendrochronology; biomechanics of trees
  telewski@msu.edu

Jonathan D. Walton
Jonathan D. Walton

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
Enzymes for bioenergy applications; biosynthesis of fungal toxins; host-selective phytotoxins
  walton@msu.edu

C. Peter Wolk
C. Peter Wolk

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
University Distinguished Faculty

Ph.D. Rockefeller Institute
Developmental physiology and genetics of cyanobacteria (blue-green algae)
  wolk@msu.edu