Plant-Microbe Interaction

Maren Friesen
Maren Friesen

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Washington State University, Department of Plant Pathology

Ph.D. University of California, Davis
  mfriesen@msu.edu
Legume-rhizobium symbiosis, ecological and evolutionary genomics, plant-microbiome interactions, coevolution

Katherine L. Gross
Katherine L. Gross

University Distinguished Professor
Director of Kellogg Biological Station
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Michigan State University
Plant population and community ecology; old-field succession and agricultural ecology; long-term ecological studies; root dynamics and spatial heterogeneity
  grossk@kbs.msu.edu

Sheng-Yang He
Sheng-Yang He

University Distinguished Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Cornell University
Molecular interactions between plants and pathogenic bacteria
  hes@msu.edu

Andrew M. Jarosz
Andrew M. Jarosz

Associate Chair
Associate Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Purdue University
Epidemiology; metapopulation dynamics of natural host-pathogen systems; patterns of pathogen virulence and host resistance
  amjarosz@msu.edu

Carolyn Malmstrom
Carolyn Malmstrom

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
A.B. Harvard University
Plant and landscape ecology; plant virus ecology; disturbance ecology; remote sensing; global change; sustainability; restoration.
  carolynm@msu.edu

Yair Shachar-Hill
Yair Shachar-Hill

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Yale University
The arbuscular mycorrhizal symbiosis, non-photosynthetic one carbon metabolism, metabolic engineering, plant NMR spectroscopy
  yairhill@msu.edu

Frances Trail
Frances Trail

Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University
Development in filamentous fungi and host-pathogen interactions using genetics, genomics and physiological approaches
  trail@msu.edu

Jonathan D. Walton
Jonathan D. Walton

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
Enzymes for bioenergy applications; biosynthesis of fungal toxins; host-selective phytotoxins
  walton@msu.edu