Molecular Genetics & Cell Biology

Robin Buell
Robin Buell

MSU Foundation Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Utah State University
  buell@msu.edu
High throughput sequencing, functional genomics, comparative genomics, and bioinformatics.

Kevin Childs
Kevin Childs

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
  kchilds@msu.edu

Eva Farre
Eva Farre

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Potsdam, Germany
Molecular mechanisms of the plant circadian clock; role of circadian rhythms in plant physiology
  farre@msu.edu

Sheng-Yang He
Sheng-Yang He

University Distinguished Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Cornell University
Molecular interactions between plants and pathogenic bacteria
  hes@msu.edu

Jianping Hu
Jianping Hu

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Georgia
Molecular mechanisms of peroxisomal function and regulation in plants
  huji@msu.edu

Jiming Jiang
Jiming Jiang

MSU Foundation Professor, Plant Biology
Ph.D. (Kansas State University)
  jiangjm@msu.edu

Robert Last
Robert Last

Barnett Rosenberg Professor
Ph.D. Carnegie-Mellon University
Plant Genetics, metabolic regulation, amino acid and vitamin biosynthesis, secondary metabolism, function genomics
  lastr@msu.edu

David Lowry
David Lowry

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Duke University
Plant Speciation; population and quantitative genetics; landscape evoluationary genomics
  dlowry@msu.edu

John B. Ohlrogge
John B. Ohlrogge

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
University Distinguished Professor

Ph.D. University of Michigan
Lipid and fatty acid biosynthesis, metabolic engineering, genomics, regulation of metabolism, seed oil accumulation
  ohlrogge@msu.edu

Katherine W. Osteryoung
Katherine W. Osteryoung

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
Structural organization and dynamics of the chloroplast division machinery; molecular mechanisms controlling chloroplast division and expansion in plant cells
  osteryou@msu.edu

Doug Schemske
Doug Schemske

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Illinois
The goal of my research is to characterize the mechanisms of adaptation
  schem@msu.edu

Danny J. Schnell
Danny J. Schnell

Professor of Plant Biology
Chairperson, Department of Plant Biology

Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
 schnelld@msu.edu

Barbara B. Sears
Barbara B. Sears

Professor Emerita of Plant Biology
Director Emerita, Genetics Graduate Program

Ph.D. Duke University
The Sears research group investigates the genetic controls of chloroplast DNA replication and repair and plant mitochondrial recombination
  sears@msu.edu

Shin-Han Shiu
Shin-Han Shiu

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
Genome evolution, stress regulatory mechanism, computational and systems biology
  shius@msu.edu

Frances Trail
Frances Trail

Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University
Development in filamentous fungi and host-pathogen interactions using genetics, genomics and physiological approaches
  trail@msu.edu

Jonathan D. Walton
Jonathan D. Walton

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
Enzymes for bioenergy applications; biosynthesis of fungal toxins; host-selective phytotoxins
  walton@msu.edu

C. Peter Wolk
C. Peter Wolk

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
University Distinguished Faculty

Ph.D. Rockefeller Institute
Developmental physiology and genetics of cyanobacteria (blue-green algae)
  wolk@msu.edu