Ecology, Evolution, & Systematics

Lars Brudvig
Lars Brudvig

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Iowa State University
Plant community, landscape, and restoration ecology; plant-animal interactions, habitat fragmentation.
  brudvig@msu.edu

Jeffrey K. Conner
Jeffrey K. Conner

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Cornell University
Plant/pollinator interactions; evolutionary ecology; ecological genetics
  connerj@msu.edu

Diane Ebert-May
Diane Ebert-May

University Distinguished Professor
Undergraduate Director

Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D. University of Colorado
Undergraduate biology teaching and learning; effect of climate change on alpine tundra plant communities.
  ebertmay@msu.edu

Katherine L. Gross
Katherine L. Gross

University Distinguished Professor
Director of Kellogg Biological Station
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Michigan State University
Plant population and community ecology; old-field succession and agricultural ecology; long-term ecological studies; root dynamics and spatial heterogeneity
  grossk@kbs.msu.edu

Andrew M. Jarosz
Andrew M. Jarosz

Associate Chair
Associate Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Purdue University
Epidemiology; metapopulation dynamics of natural host-pathogen systems; patterns of pathogen virulence and host resistance
  amjarosz@msu.edu

Christopher Klausmeier
Christopher Klausmeier

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
Theoretical Ecology;plankton ecology
  klausme1@msu.edu

Richard K. Kobe
Richard K. Kobe

Adjunct Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Forest ecology (temperate and tropical); mechanisms governing plant community dynamics
  kobe@msu.edu

Jennifer Lau
Jennifer Lau

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
Evolutionary ecology; global change; plant-herbivore interactions; biological invasion
  jenlau@msu.edu

Elena Litchman
Elena Litchman

Professor of Integrative Biology
Adjunct Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
phytoplankton ecology, physiology and evolution; biogeochemical impacts of phytoplankton; global change, invasive microbes, harmful algal blooms, aquatic ecology
  litchman@msu.edu

Tammy Long
Tammy Long

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Biology education, model-based learning and systems thinking, global change ecology, phenology
 longta@msu.edu

David Lowry
David Lowry

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Duke University
Plant Speciation; population and quantitative genetics; landscape evoluationary genomics
  dlowry@msu.edu

Carolyn Malmstrom
Carolyn Malmstrom

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
A.B. Harvard University
Plant and landscape ecology; plant virus ecology; disturbance ecology; remote sensing; global change; sustainability; restoration.
  carolynm@msu.edu

L. Alan Prather
L. Alan Prather

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Director of the Herbarium

Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
Plant systematics and the evolution of floral morphology and pollination systems
 alan@msu.edu

Doug Schemske
Doug Schemske

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Illinois
The goal of my research is to characterize the mechanisms of adaptation
  schem@msu.edu

Shin-Han Shiu
Shin-Han Shiu

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
Genome evolution, stress regulatory mechanism, computational and systems biology
  shius@msu.edu

Frank W. Telewski
Frank W. Telewski

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Wake Forest University
Enviromental and stress physiology; tree growth and development; dendrochronology; biomechanics of trees
  telewski@msu.edu

Richard E. Triemer
Richard E. Triemer

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Algal Cell Biology, Chloroplast Genomics, Phylogeny and Systematics
  triemer@msu.edu

Marjorie Weber
Marjorie Weber

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Cornell University
weberm11@msu.edu

Plant defense and mutualism; trait-mediated plant-animal interactions; phylogenetic ecology; links between species interactions and macroevolution