Faculty & Research

Christoph Benning

University Distinguished Professor, MSU Foundation Professor
Professor of Plant Biology
MSU-DOE Plant Research Laboratory

Ph.D. Michigan State University

  benning@cns.msu.edu

Federica Brandizzi

MSU Foundation Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. University of Rome, Italy
Biology of secretion in plant cells, endomembranes and live cell imaging
  brandizz@msu.edu

Lars Brudvig

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Iowa State University
Plant community, landscape, and restoration ecology; plant-animal interactions, habitat fragmentation.
  brudvig@msu.edu

Robin Buell

University Distinguished Professor, MSU Foundation Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Utah State University
  buell@msu.edu
High throughput sequencing, functional genomics, comparative genomics, and bioinformatics.

Kevin Childs

Assistant Professor Fixed Term of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
  kchilds@msu.edu

Jeffrey K. Conner

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Cornell University
Plant/pollinator interactions; evolutionary ecology; ecological genetics
  connerj@msu.edu

Shi-You Ding

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Kunming Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Plant cell wall biology and applications, real-time label-free imaging using microspectroscopy, single cell omics
 sding@msu.edu

Diane Ebert-May

University Distinguished Professor
Graduate Director

Ph.D. University of Colorado
Undergraduate biology teaching and learning; effect of climate change on alpine tundra plant communities.
  ebertmay@msu.edu

Eva Farre

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Potsdam, Germany
Molecular mechanisms of the plant circadian clock; role of circadian rhythms in plant physiology
  farre@msu.edu

Katherine L. Gross

University Distinguished Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Michigan State University
Plant population and community ecology; old-field succession and agricultural ecology; long-term ecological studies; root dynamics and spatial heterogeneity
  grossk@kbs.msu.edu

Sheng-Yang He

University Distinguished Professor
Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Cornell University
Molecular interactions between plants and pathogenic bacteria
  hes@msu.edu

Jianping Hu

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Georgia
Molecular mechanisms of peroxisomal function and regulation in plants
  huji@msu.edu

Andrew M. Jarosz

Associate Chair
Associate Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D. Purdue University
Epidemiology; metapopulation dynamics of natural host-pathogen systems; patterns of pathogen virulence and host resistance
  amjarosz@msu.edu

Jiming Jiang

MSU Foundation Professor, Plant Biology
Ph.D. (Kansas State University)
  jiangjm@msu.edu

Emily Josephs

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Toronto
  josep993@msu.edu
Evolutionary genetics of wild and domesticated plants

Christopher Klausmeier

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
Theoretical Ecology;plankton ecology
  klausme1@msu.edu

Richard K. Kobe

Adjunct Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Forest ecology (temperate and tropical); mechanisms governing plant community dynamics
  kobe@msu.edu

Robert Last

Barnett Rosenberg Professor
Ph.D. Carnegie-Mellon University
Plant Genetics, metabolic regulation, amino acid and vitamin biosynthesis, secondary metabolism, function genomics
  lastr@msu.edu

Melissa Lehti-Shiu

Research Assistant Professor
 lehtishi@msu.edu
 (517) 353-7244

Elena Litchman

Professor of Integrative Biology
Adjunct Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Minnesota
phytoplankton ecology, physiology and evolution; biogeochemical impacts of phytoplankton; global change, invasive microbes, harmful algal blooms, aquatic ecology
  litchman@msu.edu

Tammy Long

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Director of Undergraduate Studies

Ph.D. University of Michigan
Biology education, model-based learning and systems thinking, global change ecology, phenology
 longta@msu.edu

David Lowry

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Duke University
Plant Speciation; population and quantitative genetics; landscape evoluationary genomics
  dlowry@msu.edu

Carolyn M. Malmstrom

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Stanford University
A.B. Harvard University
Plant, microbial, and landscape ecology; ecology, evolution, and impact of nano-microbes (viruses, viroids, and phytoplasmas); plant–herbivore interactions; invasive species and global change; collaborative ecological restoration and management.
  carolynm@msu.edu

Chad Niederhuth

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Missouri, Columbia
Function and evolution of plant epigenomes and genomes
 niederhu@msu.edu

Katherine W. Osteryoung

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
Structural organization and dynamics of the chloroplast division machinery; molecular mechanisms controlling chloroplast division and expansion in plant cells
  osteryou@msu.edu

L. Alan Prather

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Director of the Herbarium

Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
Plant systematics and the evolution of floral morphology and pollination systems
 alan@msu.edu

Doug Schemske

Professor Emeritus of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Illinois
The goal of my research is to characterize the mechanisms of adaptation
  schem@msu.edu

Danny J. Schnell

Professor of Plant Biology
Chairperson, Department of Plant Biology

Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
 schnelld@msu.edu

Yair Shachar-Hill

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Yale University
The arbuscular mycorrhizal symbiosis, non-photosynthetic one carbon metabolism, metabolic engineering, plant NMR spectroscopy
  yairhill@msu.edu

Shin-Han Shiu

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, Madison
Genome evolution, stress regulatory mechanism, computational and systems biology
  shius@msu.edu

Frank W. Telewski

Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Wake Forest University
Enviromental and stress physiology; tree growth and development; dendrochronology; biomechanics of trees
  telewski@msu.edu

Frances Trail

Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University
Development in filamentous fungi and host-pathogen interactions using genetics, genomics and physiological approaches
  trail@msu.edu

Berkley Walker

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Washington State University
 berkley@msu.edu

Marjorie Weber

Assistant Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. Cornell University
Plant defense and mutualism; trait-mediated plant-animal interactions; phylogenetic ecology; links between species interactions and macroevolution
weberm11@msu.edu

 

Curtis Wilkerson

Associate Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D. University of Georgia
Plant Cell Wall Biosynthesis
  wilker13@msu.edu

Phoebe Zarnetske

Adjunct Assistant Professor   
Ph.D. Oregon State
  plz@anr.msu.edu